All,

This question has come up recently: how many on-deck batters are allowed to be warming up between
innings? | received a clear and unequivocal answer today from the national office. The answer is one.
NFHS 2-5-3 states this. So, the interpretation that we will be using is only one on-deck batter on the field
between innings, or at the start of the game.  Teams can still choose to allow their players to warm up in
dead ball territory if they wish.

I know that this is different than many teams have experienced, but this is the procedure that needs to
be followed in all MPSSAA softball games. Local association boards may want to consider sending out
this information to teams or school athletic directors so teams will know before they take the field. But
umpires will undoubtedly have to address this, so a simple statement such as “this interpretation was just
given to us and we will be enforcing it” is really all that needs to be said. If coaches have questions, you
can direct them to contact me and | will be happy to respond. Thanks for clarifying this with your teams
and for helping us to be a more consistent organization.

Rick



